The end of an era

On Wednesday night I officially played for my last BU sporting event as a student. With a heavy heart, I played the last four notes of Go BU, packed up my clarinet and walked out of Agganis Arena. It’s crazy to think that four years ago I made the decision to join pep band and now it’s all over. I never imagined what kind of crazy adventures it would have taken me on. There were countless trips to the TD Garden, a trip to New York City to play in Madison Square Garden, playing in a Foster the People concert, and so much more.

It wasn’t the best season to go out to, but I’ve thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. My last men’s hockey game was a weekend sweep of Northeastern and their first road win of the entire season after traveling across the country all year to watch them play. The women’s team went out on top again as the Hockey East Champions, but unfortunately lost in the first round of the NCAA tournament against a dominant Minnesota team. Women’s basketball lost in the Patriot League Quarterfinals after beating Loyola in the first round of the tournament.

It was men’s basketball that gave us the best run for our money this year, a sport I really didn’t care about until this year. And now I write this while watching my sixth basketball game of the day and shuffling through the five different brackets I filled out. Who knew Boston University basketball could give me March madness?

The month began with a trip out to Holy Cross where the Terriers won 68-64 and the regular season Patriot League title their first year in the conference. This was the same weekend of the aforementioned sweep of Northeastern in hockey and will probably go down as one of the best weekends in BU sports that I’ve experienced in my life. Unfortunately, the hockey team went on to lose their next game in the play-in round of the Hockey East tournament to Notre Dame, but the BU basketball was just getting started.

They entered the Patriot League tournament seeded first and demolished both Lafayette and Army in the first two rounds, scoring 91 points each night. The championship game, however, was a different story. BU put up only 36 points in the entire game as they were completely shut down by American University’s defense. Arguably the best basketball team, this senior class has seen at BU had to settle for the National Invitational Tournament. Had they won, they more than likely would have been seeded 14th and I would’ve gotten to see my two favorite basketball teams, the Terriers and the Orange, go at it in the first round of the NCAA tournament. But there was no miraculous repeat of 2011 and instead I got to watch one more game in Agganis Arena.

All things considered, watching BU go up by 17 points against a Big 10 school was a good way to end my pep band career.  Even though the Terriers went on to lose to the Fighting Illini, it was a much better last game than watching them put up a pathetic 36 points against a team they had beaten a few weeks before. I still found myself tearing up as I struggled to sing Go BU one last time, but it was a fitting end. I may have witnessed my last game as a student, but BU athletics hasn’t seen the last of me. And hey…there’s always next year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports

Leave a Reply

