A crazy few weeks on Causeway Street

Screen shot 2013-07-11 at 7.36.19 PM

It’s about time. But not soon enough.

So if I haven’t made it obvious on here (if you’ve seen my Twitter I’m sure you know) I am kind of in love with Tyler Seguin. Yes, for some superficial, girl-type reason. But also because he was coming into the NHL right as I was really getting into the NHL. He was having his big breakout season and kicking ass in the Playoffs in my first year of actually vigorously following the Bruins. So there’s that.

To say I took the news on July 4th a little hard might be the understatement of the year. I know this could be a good thing. Apparently Chiarelli knows what he’s doing? Still not convinced of that. But what’s done is done.

I think all of these rumors that are now circling this poor 21-year-old kid are ridiculous, but I won’t get into that or I’ll go all Chris Crocker, “LEAVE TYLER ALONE!!!”

 

I understand Nathan Horton’s decision. But it still sucks. He gave up playing in a city that loves him on a team that has a good chance of winning a cup in the next few years just to be closer to his home and be with his family. I get it, but come on man! It’s the Boston Bruins! “Horton hears a ‘WOO!'” shirts were my favorite!

 

If I wasn’t emotionally prepared to deal with the Seguin trade then I don’t even know if I can talk about the gaping hole in Boston’s heart that Andrew Ference once occupied. Of everyone who left these past couple of weeks, I will definitely miss him the most off the ice. He is just simply a really freaking awesome guy.

The stuff he has done for the city of Boston has been incredible. Whether it’s reaching out to the community, leading the way in creating a greener city or visiting children’s hospitals on his days off, Ference has been one of Boston’s greatest citizens for several years now.

I mean, just check out one of his last stops in Boston! To retire the Army Ranger Jacket to Matt Brown.

Screen shot 2013-07-11 at 7.40.22 PM

Brown was paralyzed in 2010 after breaking his fourth and fifth cervical vertebrae in a hockey game and Ference has been a great friend to him these past couple of years. And what a goodbye present!

I was fortunate enough to get the opportunity to say Goodbye and Good Luck to Ference at the November Project last week. He’s such a down to Earth guy to wake up at 6am to come work out with the people of Boston. He even bought us cupcakes as a goodbye present.

And naturally we serenaded him with the Canadian National Anthem because why not?

Goodbye, Andrew. And good luck!

0710130746

Come back and visit soon!

 

Of course with all these goodbyes come some pretty exciting hellos. Obviously there’s Loui Eriksson, Joe Morrow, Reilly Smith, and Matt Fraser from the devastating big Seguin/Peverly deal. But there’s another name I’m also pretty excited about: the Swedish Linus Arnesson. Time will tell if he can replace the guys we’ve lost on the ice, but he has certainly been replacing the guy we lost on Twitter.

Arnesson’s tweets crack me up! From his first one after being selected by the Bruins. (his first tweet ever to appear in English by the way)

Screen shot 2013-07-11 at 11.16.45 AM

Screen shot 2013-07-11 at 11.16.36 AM

To all his attempts since then to prove that he is assimilating into Boston culture.

Screen shot 2013-07-11 at 11.16.29 AM

Screen shot 2013-07-11 at 11.16.15 AM

Screen shot 2013-07-11 at 11.16.00 AM

So. Adorable.

We can’t wait to have you, Linus!

 

And to wrap everything up I saw this on Stanley Cup of Chowder the other day and fell in love with it!

longslowgoodbye

I will miss every single one of them so much!

Is it October yet?

Leave a comment

Filed under Boston Bruins, Sports

Leave a Reply

