Boston Pops Preview Concert

So these posts are going to be a week late because life has been absolutely crazy lately and I have not been able to find any time to blog. Apologies. But I still wanted to share everything with you so let’s just rewind back to a week ago, you were all probably sitting out in the yard drinking a beer and eating hamburgers with friends and family waiting for the fireworks and thoroughly enjoying a day of no work. Good times.

On July 3rd my mom and I went to the Boston Pops preview show. We fought the heat and the long lines and the ridiculous amounts of security for the chance to see it a year when my mom was finally here in Boston with me.

100_1347

 

For those of you who aren’t already in on this little secret, every year the Boston Pops and other performers do a full dress rehearsal (sans fireworks) on July 3rd at 7:30pm. It’s perfect in my opinion. The lines aren’t nearly as long as July 4th (and they were MUCH shorter than last year, maybe because of heightened security) and you get to see the same exact thing without having to get there 12 hours early. Also, you can’t actually see the fireworks from inside the oval so I don’t know why anyone would want to go there on the actual fourth. The fireworks are the best part!

100_1346

 

A Boston Policewoman walking away after trying to photo bomb us. At least the billions of police people present were friendly!

I was so happy to get one of these hats this year. And even more ecstatic when I realized that it fit perfectly around my braid! (Almost as excited as when I finally learned how to do this wraparound braid and wore it like that for almost a week straight.)

100_1349

100_1354

 

My mom and I started out sitting on the outer edge of the oval in the grass, but there were a lot of empty seats in the VIP section so the man came over and told us we could sit in there if we wanted. Score!

100_1358

 

I love watching the sky change between 7pm and 9pm. It’s my favorite.

100_1361

100_1363

 

Aren’t we adorable?

I’m wearing my Roxy’s shirt because I had to sprint from work to meet my mother and then get us there on time. Sorry if I’m not very patriotic.

100_1364

 

Stars & Stripes Forever! And some mini fireworks!

100_1370

 

Confetti!!!!!

100_1375

 

So if you’re in the Boston area, I highly recommend checking out the concert on the 3rd and just kicking back on the Esplanade for the 4th where you can hang out with friends all day and get a great view of the fireworks. More on my Fourth of July experiences tomorrow…

Leave a comment

Filed under Boston Things

Leave a Reply

