Veggie Galaxy

It has been a ridiculously long time since I’ve posted anything. ‘Tis that time of the semester! I have both of my finals on Monday and then head home Tuesday morning so I’ve basically been a paper-writing, final-project-finishing, studying, working, packing fiend for the past week or so.

I’ve also been deprived of Terrier Hockey for that long. The Giants have been a mess for the most part and the Patriots think it’s okay to be complete show offs.

Screen shot 2012-12-15 at 12.54.27 PM

 

And I really haven’t gotten to go out in to Boston really at all, so alas.

The other day though, me and my roommate did make it a point to take a break from studying/packing/working to go out to Cambridge to our FAVORITE dessert place to treat each other for Christmas.

This place is called Veggie Galaxy and it is 100% vegetarian and can be made completely vegan if you want it to be. We first tried this place out last spring when we decided to go vegan for a week and I was not disappointed.

100_1851

 

We got tofu egg omelets. (It may sound gross to you, I know, but trust me here. You couldn’t even tell it wasn’t eggs. But I will tell you do NOT get the vegan cheese. Quite possibly the worst thing I’ve ever eaten.)

100_1849

 

Where they truly shine is with their desserts. Every dessert they have is vegan, including their frappes!

On our last visit, we went with the chocolate frappe (made with coconut milk to stay vegan) and it was to DIE for!

100_1846

On our most recent trip, we gave the Chocolate Peanut Butter a shot and it was equally delicious!

100_3472

 

The true star of this place, however, is their vegan sweet potato carrot cake. It is either the most or second most delicious carrot cake I have ever had in my life. And by far the best frosting!! I have no idea how one makes vegan cream cheese frosting (and I probably don’t want to) but it is amazing! It has a very vanilla beany and lemony taste. Yum!

The sweet potato makes it so moist and just amazing. I’m honestly out of adjectives. It was good enough for us to walk all the way over to Cambridge during these crazy busy times to get it for ourselves for Christmas. It is really expensive though! It’s $5 for a slice of cake and $5 for the frappe (thus why we split both of them for Christmas), but it is definitely worth trying at least once! You won’t be disappointed.

Promise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

Leave a Reply

