Roxy’s Grilled Cheese

Confession: I’m addicted to the Food Network. (And food in general, but that’s besides the point.)

And if there’s one thing that really sucks about college, it’s that you never have time to watch mindless TV during the day. I can’t remember the last time I got to watch the Food Network. Actually yes, I do, it was the season finale of The Great Food Truck Race 3. And now I really want to go to LA just to try the winners Seoul Sausage. Koreans seem to be really good at running food trucks! Korilla BBQ almost won season 2 and my best friend who lives in NYC says that they are absolutely amazing! So I guess I’ll just have to settle with trying them out soon…a little more practical than LA.

So, yeah. I guess the point of this is that I love the Food Network and the first season I watched of The Great Food Truck Race was the one that Roxy’s Grilled Cheese competed in. Unfortunately they didn’t win, but I remember coming back to school in the fall and passing Roxy’s for the first time on the BU bridge. I felt like I was seeing a celebrity. These people were on TV! And not just TV…the Food Network! They were practically my idol and I took a stalker picture and sent it to my mom (my Food Network viewing partner) so excited!

It was a long time before I actually got the chance to eat there though. Mostly just because it costs money and I’m a poor college kid on a dining plan. (Sandwiches run from $6-$7) But alas, that special time of year that allows college students to eat like kings for a couple of days came around…Parents Weekend!

So on our way to a hockey game, my mother and I stopped at Roxy’s and we settled with the Mighty Rib Melt (fontina cheese, braised short ribs and caramelized onions). It was good, although I’m not a huge fan of BBQ sauce so I wasn’t crazy about it. But it was the only thing that they had left that looked good to me.

Alas, I was a little disappointed after nearly 6 months of hyping it up.

But about half a year later when my mother was in Boston again at the end of Spring Break, we hit up SoWa Winter Market for another shot at Roxy’s.

There was a much bigger menu this day and we ended up settling on the Winter Classic (cheddar, white bean and eggplant ragout, and artichoke spread). I loved it!

The perfect winter flavors to warm you right up on a crisp summer afternoon!

And that’s exactly what I got to experience again on my birthday last Monday! Roxy’s is relatively near where I intern so I decided to treat myself to an indulgent lunch for my birthday! This was back in the couple days of winter we had last week. I nearly froze to death and blew over on the walk to the truck, prompting me to spend an extra $2 on some hot apple cider just to warm my hands, but it was well worth it.

I ordered the Fall Melt (Vermont cheddar, sweet potato, raisins, brown buttered Granny Smith apples (ummm, yum!), and rosemary infused maple syrup (ummm, triple yum!!).

This was one delicious grilled and cheesy combination. All the best tastes of fall all wrapped into one melty, gooey sandwich.

I was skeptical about the raisins at first, but you really don’t notice them and they just add a yummy sweetness to the sandwich! The maple syrup was also a brilliant idea! I never though I’d dunk a grilled cheese into anything but tomato soup, but these flavors paired wonderfully!

This was by far the best sandwich I had at Roxy’s! Although I am DYING to try their grilled cheesecake!! They only have it on the truck every now and then though. I almost hopped on the T all the way out to Cleveland Circle once just because they tweeted that they were serving it there. But one of these days!

I also need to try the truffle fries one of these days too. People RAVE about them! I’m not much a fry person, but we’ll see.

The cider was delicious too! Even if it was cold by the time I got back to my office to drink it. But it did it’s job, and I prefer cold cider anyway, so win win!

Yum!

They also get an A for excellent service! They were all great, especially the guy who took my money. He made sure I was enjoying my cider when I went back to pick up my sandwich. But embarrassingly, I hadn’t tried any in the 8 minutes I was waiting there. I was just using it to keep my hands warm and was too lazy to take off my gloves and open the lid.

My bad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

Leave a Reply

