A Night of Remembrance and Celebration at Fenway

I love this country! We have taken the worst tragedy this country has ever seen and turned its anniversary into a celebration of America and the men and women who serve to protect us. Of course 9-11 is still a day of mourning those who tragically lost their lives on that bright and sunny Tuesday morning, but it is also a day to be proud of our county. To prove to the terrorists that they did not break us.

Few things can compare to the sweet sound of U-S-A U-S-A after the seventh inning singing of “God Bless America”. It really can’t.

We will never forget.

I’m so glad I got to spend 9-11 at the game last night. Because honestly, what’s more American than baseball? Or Fenway Park? Or the Red Sox/Yankees rivalry? (even if we were 16 and a half games behind and way out of the Playoff race)

I loved all the festivities at the beginning and was SO glad that they broke out the giant Green Monster American flag. It makes you proud. And the stadium-wide moment of silence….chills!

And I love these free signs they were giving out, I just wish it said Red Sox on it somewhere. Come on people! It’s definitely going on my wall anyway, but it would be nice to finally have a Red Sox poster too!

Also…an interesting thing to note: going into last night’s game, guess what Jon Lester’s record was?

No…not 0-27,000. That was my guess too, though!

9-11.

Creepy stuff.

AND Dustin Pedroia’s homerun (the only homerun of the night) occurred at, you guessed it, 9:11pm.

I would notice this stuff.

So anyway, let’s talk about that game.

That game!!!

Oh my God, I was so nervous going into this game. I mean, we had lost 12 in a row!! TWELVE! Yeah, they were all on the road, but still. And now going up against the 1st place Yankees. I was sure it was going to be a disaster that wasn’t even fun to watch.

But, as they do so many times, the Red Sox proved me wrong and put on a wonderful show for me! And kept baseball actually interesting for all 9 innings! There’s nothing like the Red Sox/Yankees rivalry…even when we’re down 16 and a half games and don’t have a shot in hell at October. And last night proved it.

To make me dread a complete blowout even more, was the fact that one of my best friends from high school (and an avid Yankees fan) TJ, drove out to Boston to come see the game with me.

If I had a quarter for every time someone said “That relationship will never work!”, well…I’d probably have about 5 quarters.

It was so much fun though! And such an exciting game!

And I never thought in a million years that we were going to win.

And even though he got off to a rocky start, this Lester who I hadn’t seen in a long time came out and started throwing strike-outs one right after the other. Why can’t he stick around more often?

I was just checking for a keg or fried chicken or dart board with Beckett’s head attached to it. But it looks clean.

We had right field standing room only tickets (they were wicked cheap!) so we sat in two of the many open seats during the opening ceremony and stuff. And then something amazing happened. The stadium actually filled up. Like nearly every single seat. Like the actually aren’t lying when they say they have sold out crowds. Now, I know this was Red Sox/Yankees, but after losing 12 in a row, I really did not expect to see such a crowd at Fenway. It made me so proud of Red Sox Nation!

So anyway, the rest of the night (until the later innings when people started heading out and we were able to snag seats again) we stood up in the back leaning against the back wall and we actually had a great view!

Unless someone hit a homerun. Then it was kind of difficult to follow the ball. But it was nice! And much to my enjoyment, I realized that we could see the Pru from where we were standing if we turned around and I got this awesome picture with the red, white and blueness and the flag. I love it! I took about 15 of these to get a perfect one.

And then Jacoby Ellsbury just topped off a great night with a wonderful birthday present for himself: a walk-off RBI single in the bottom of the ninth with a tie game. And guess what??

Guess who decided to turn her video camera on right before that pitch hoping to catch something awesome?

This girl!

I’m psychic. And good luck!

That was TJ’s angry face at the end. I didn’t realize it was so zoomed in in all of my excitement. And yes, I realize that you can’t actually really see anything except for a streak of white as Ciriaco flies from second to home and you can hear the crack of the ball being driven into right field. I was too busy watching it in real life to make sure my camera screen was capturing it, my bad.

And I don’t think anyone realized how close of a play it was going to be at home. Everyone (myself included) began celebrating really early and then they almost through the rookie out at the plate. But luckily, they did not.

Who would’ve thought?

1 Comment

Filed under Boston Red Sox, Sports

One response to “A Night of Remembrance and Celebration at Fenway

  1. Pingback: Another Tuesday Night at Fenway | Boston Without the Accent

Leave a Reply

