Cupcake Week: Crumbs Bake Shop

I finally go home today!!! This is like the second longest I’ve been without seeing my house. And it’s the first summer I haven’t spent at home. It’s been so weird! No lounging on the couch doing nothing but watching TV and stuffing my face with food. And then getting eyes rolled at me when my mom comes home from work and I’m still in my pajamas. (Like she didn’t do that when she was young too!)

And don’t even get me started about the Olympics!!! This was the first time I wasn’t home to watch the Olympics. Any Olympics!! Every summer Olympics I would LITERALLY sit on the couch and watch like 16 hours straight of Olympics, even if I didn’t care about the obscure events that were on in the middle of the day. And I’ll never forget last summer Olympics especially, getting to watch all the Phelps races live with my mother. We would be in different parts of the house usually, but as soon as we started to see the “Countdown to Phelps’ next race” in the bottom corner of the screen, we would come together and scream our heads off, probably waking up half the neighborhood. Good freakin times!

And all the winter Olympics fell during my Winter Break for school…so I always got to do the same with those!

But this year I was working 5 days a week and then went to NYC during one of the weekends, so I rarely got to watch it! I only got to see the primetime stuff that had already been spoiled for me during the day. (But I would still watch it until midnight nevertheless and then be really angry at myself when my alarm went off for work 6 hours later.)

But anyway, now I get to go home and enjoy my house for a few days before heading back to school and being crazy busy again. It’s weird how this doesn’t even feel like home anymore. Boston does.

Okay, clearly I’m too upset for this conversation right now. Let’s just talk about cupcakes.

So the first runner up of my Best Cupcake in Boston is…Crumbs Bake Shop!

Let me preface this by saying that this started out as being the MOST AMAZING cupcakes I had ever had in my entire life! But every time I go there now, they just keep getting worse and worse. So maybe they only made their really amazingful cupcakes on Opening Day and then just didn’t care anymore…but I want those back. Because they were so good!

So good in fact that I went there TWICE in one week!! Me! Spent money! Twice! On giant calorie-laden cupcakes! (I actually read somewhere that their vanilla cupcake has 700 calories. I hope to God that this isn’t true, but it would not surprise me one bit. And it would not [and did not] deter me from going back and shoving another one down my throat).

So for real, if you knew me, you would know that a cupcake must be pretty damn good for me to keep eating them after finding out they have over 700 calories a piece. And these were good! And I know why they have 700 calories…they are pure butter! This is from my first visit:

For real, look at that cake!!! It was so moist and amazing! I could’ve eaten just the cake plain without the frosting or filling! So good!

It’s called the Good Guy. Funfetti cake with a buttercream filling, cream cheese frosting and a CRAP TON of sprinkles and awesomeness on top! It was amazing. Like I said…the cake was so moist and fresh and delicious! The frosting was also really good. I couldn’t really taste the cream cheeseyness of the frosting because there were some many sprinkles, but it was still really good! They didn’t even need the filling because the cake was so good on its own and there was plenty of frosting.

They had a coupon on their website for their first two weeks being opening for buy one get one free. So I grabbed my friend Vic (the girl giving me thumbs up in front of the shop) to come with me and she got the Brownie cupcake: chocolate cake with chocolate fudge frosting and filling and a chunk of brownie on top.

I’m not a chocolate cake person, but she devoured hers as quickly as I devoured mine so it must have been equally fantabulous!

Then I returned AGAIN after that week and printed out another coupon and took a trip downtown to get TWO MORE of these awesome amazingnesses!

This time I went with the Toasted Coconut.

Yum yum yum yum yum! Now…I make a mean coconut cake, but this cupcake came pretty darn close. It wasn’t quite as moist as the other one I had the week before. I don’t know if this is because it’s a different kind or it just hadn’t been made as recently or what, but it was still really good.

It was vanilla cake with vanilla cream cheese frosting, some kind of coconut flavored pudding or custard stuff (technical terms) filling, and toasted coconut on top. Yum!

I also got a Mudslide cupcake for Vic, which she said was “really good” when I asked. Typical non-foodie response.

Chocolate cake with chocolate buttercream filling, coffee cream cheese frosting, and chocolate chips and Oreos on top.

And then for my mom’s birthday I sent her here (by herself because I was busy taking my Spanish final) to get their Buy 3 Get 1 Free Mother’s Day special. And I had done nothing but talk about how absolutely amazing and delicious they were. I had to talk her into going all the way downtown to get these instead of just to SWEET Cupcakes down the road. But unfortunately Crumbs let us both down. They just weren’t as phenomenal as they once were. They were still good, but not nearly as good as I chalked them up to be.

These cupcakes are $4 a piece, which may seem like a lot, but they are a lot bigger than your standard cupcake. Perfect for splitting with someone or cutting in half to have it two days in a row (that is, if you’re strong enough to stop eating it halfway through).

The service here was also phenomenal! They were all really friendly and helped you decide which flavor to choose (because seriously, there are AT LEAST 25 different flavors! Even more reason to keep going back again and again to try them all).

Overall, I was clearly very impressed! Check this place out! And you can see where all the food trucks hang out outside South Station from the bakery. Head downtown for some lunch and pop in here for dessert!

Rating Breakdown (out of 5):

Frosting: 4.5

Cake: 5 at first, 4 the most recent time

Number of Flavor Options: 55

Price: 4

Overall Taste: 5 at first/4.5 the most recent time

1 Comment

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

One response to “Cupcake Week: Crumbs Bake Shop

  1. Pingback: Lulu’s Sweet Shoppe | Boston Without the Accent

Leave a Reply

