Cupcake Week: SWEET Cupcake

Happy Wednesday! You did it…you made it halfway through the week! (Although I’m not sure if this is a good thing seeing as this is CUPCAKE WEEK! And who wants a week like that to go by quickly? Not I.)

This also means that I’m halfway through my week-long summer vacation. Sad face! I finally landed back in Northern New York this morning after an amazing week with my family in North Carolina. (More pictures to come on that soon.) And now I’m home! (almost) As this post is published I will be on my way straight from the airport to Niagara Falls. My mom and I are staying there for the night because she’s really random and decided this was what she wanted to do. I don’t ask…I just go. So yeah…it should be fun! I haven’t been to Niagara in a really long time and this will be the first time I have to use my passport to get into Canada. How exciting!

But anyway, back to cupcake week.

And third runner-up for best cupcake I’ve had in Boston so far is….SWEET Cupcakes on Mass Ave. They have four locations in Boston, but this is the only one I’ve been to. I’m just assuming they all taste the same. Also bear in mind that I came here well over a year ago right before I went home for summer last year, so it’s possible that they’ve improved (or gotten worse, for that matter) since then.

These cupcakes weren’t bad by any means, but I would say they are just average. And for $3.50 for a standard-sized cupcake, I don’t think just average is good enough. This is the box that we got (I can’t remember which one of us couldn’t wait to eat theirs before the picture was taken.)

This was during playoff season. So Bruins…you’re welcome. I’m sure my family eating these cupcakes early in the playoffs is what led you to win the Stanley Cup that year. I was planning on going back there again this year during Playoff season thinking it was good luck, but I never got to it. Now we know why they lost. But anyway…yeah see those little paper, INEDIBLE Bruins logos? 50 cents extra each! Really Sweet Cupcakes, really??

But I guess $1.50 was worth the Stanley Cup.

We stuck to plain vanilla because I guess that’s just the kind of people we are. And that’s the best way to tell if a cupcake is really good…if they’re delicious without all that fancy stuff. These unfortunately didn’t knock my socks off. It was called “The Sweet Cake” and described as creamy Madagascar vanilla bean cake with vanilla buttercream frosting. (Side note: There’s that Madagascar vanilla again. Where does it come from??)

The cakes were pretty good, not super moist, but had a lot of flavor (must be that Madagascar vanilla). But the frosting was kind of just eh. And I usually like all frosting. This was just kind of like regular old vanilla buttercream. Which isn’t bad!! But come on…I’m picking the best cupcake in Boston here, people!

They did carry a lot of different flavor options though, so maybe if I wasn’t a boring vanilla kind of gal I would have really enjoyed some of the other flavors. I guess you’ll just have to try it out for yourself!

Rating Breakdown (out of 5):

Frosting: 3

Cake: 4

Number of Flavor Options: 5

Price: 3

Overall Taste: 4

1 Comment

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

One response to “Cupcake Week: SWEET Cupcake

  1. Pingback: Lulu’s Sweet Shoppe | Boston Without the Accent

Leave a Reply

