The Dark Knight Rises

I finally got to see The Dark Knight Rises!!

I thought I was the only loser who hadn’t seen the movie yet, but I was already laying in bed in my pajamas with my teeth brushed watching the Olympics when a couple of friends said they were going to see it. I got dressed in record time and sped-walked to the movie theater to get there in time. And I am so glad I did!

I was afraid that with all the hype and the task of having to live up to The Dark Knight that I would be pretty disappointed with the movie, but this was not the case at all.

There were several things that did irk me about this film, but overall I was very pleased. Without a doubt, I still liked The Dark Knight better, but what can you do? Heath Ledger was absolutely incredible! I hate when people say that he only won the Oscar because he died, because seriously? Have you watched that movie??? A phenomenal performance!

But anyway, on to The Dark Knight Rises.

I thought the plot was amazing. I’ve heard some people criticize it for being too boring and not actiony enough, but I really liked it. It was very intricate and interesting. The entire city of Gotham is held hostage for 60 days, with every police officer stuck in underground tunnels, with the threat of a nuclear bomb explosion should anyone even attempt to escape. Meanwhile, Bruce Wayne is trapped in a prison unable to escape as he’s forced to watch his city deteriorate before his very eyes and wait until the days fly by until the bomb eventually detonates. And this all comes about in a really realistic and believable way. This is screenwriting at its finest!

As Wayne desperately tries to escape and save his city, the few heroes who are still free to try to help, commissioner Gordon (Gary Oldman) and Detective Blake (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) plot to figure out where the bomb is located and how it can be stopped. I thought both actors did a phenomenal job in this movie. I love Gordon-Levitt and was very happy to see that he could do this kind of movie flawlessly. I was also pleasantly surprised with Anne Hathaway’s performance as Catwoman. I was a little worried. And I thought at the beginning of the movie she wasn’t the best, but as the movie progressed she definitely got into her element and was a very convincing Catwoman.

Like I said, though, I did have some major issues with this movie. All of them have to do with things that will spoil the ending of the movie, however, so if you have not seen the movie yet STOP READING RIGHT NOW! And go watch it for yourself! This is definitely a movie worth watching and a great piece of cinematic excellence!

SPOILER ALERT

***Stop reading if you haven’t seen the movie***

The only real problems I had with this movie were:

A. The fact that he wasn’t actually dead at the end. I hate how Hollywood thinks that the main character has to be alive at the end. They don’t. He should have died. That was the point. He would have died saving the city of Gotham. Instead of escaping to Italy to live out the rest of his life in peace with his girl while Gotham most likely got in deep trouble again. It was just dumb. And it was pretty dumb how Alfred wasn’t surprised or happy or emotional in any way when he saw him at that cafe, like he was expecting it after just bawling his eyes out at his funeral. Just dumb.

B. The whole Robin thing. It could have been way better if Joseph Gordon-Levitt had done cooler more Robin-worthy things throughout the movie. Especially at the end. I thought he was going to do something spectacular to save the kids, but instead he just gave up and succumbed to the fact that they were all going to die. I know he did a lot of things to help Batman and the city of Gotham throughout the movie, but I think he should have had a bigger role and done more amazing things to save people to be worthy of being called Robin. He was just a detective doing his job. Nothing spectacular.

C. The character of Bane. Yes, I thought the reveal with Miranda Tate was cool, but that left me asking why was Bane doing what he was doing then? Yes, he wanted to fulfill Ra’s Al Ghul’s plan to destroy Gotham, but why? Why was he so passionate about it? He wasn’t his father. Since he was the main villain for the vast majority of the movie, I felt like he needed to be better developed or have a better backstory that explained everything, even if it didn’t come until 15 minutes from the end of the movie. He just wasn’t a very strong villain (in terms of being well-developed). And every good superhero movie needs an amazing supervillain. Especially coming after Heath Ledger’s The Joker in The Dark Knight. It was a major let down.

D. My final issue with this is the relationship between Batman and Catwoman. The chemistry just wasn’t there. I would have liked to see more sexual tension built up throughout the movie between them so that when they finally got together it was like YAY! Instead of, wow didn’t see that coming. Maybe I would’ve been a little happier with him being alive at the end if I wanted their relationship more too.

So overall, definitely a must-see…but it’s no The Dark Knight. Damn you, Heath Ledger! Why did you have to leave us so prematurely??

Leave a comment

Filed under Movie Reviews

Leave a Reply

