Twin Donuts, Allston – Sunday Brunch

I would like to preface this post by saying that a miracle happened last night. I did something that I haven’t had to do since May. Literally. I had to put on a sweatshirt!! It was glorious! There was a cold breeze coming through my window. A cold breeze!! Okay, I’m done. Let’s talk about food!

There are several breakfast places around Boston that I have been wanting to try for a weekend brunch for a long time now, but they are all just so inconvenient to get to! The Breakfast Club, for example. And The Friendly Toast. One of these days I’ll make the trek to them, but for not we decided to stay close to home!

I found Twin Donuts on Yelp and everyone raved about how cheap the menu was for a LOT of food so it sounded perfect! Amazingly enough, this was the first time I’ve gone out for breakfast in Boston I think since I got to Boston 2 years ago! Which is weird because breakfast is my FAVORITE meal of the day! But usually I just cook it for myself at home if I’m feeling fancy or I’ll go to brunch at the dining hall. But most of the time I just stick to my usual toast with peanut butter/nutella and a banana.

Yay college life!

So Sunday’s outing was MUCH needed after literally 2 months of such breakfast every. single. morning.

We hopped on the 57 bus which let’s you off right next to the diner. AFTER having one bus drive RIGHT by us!! When we were clearly standing right there. And the bus only had a handful of people on it. And it was 10:30 on a Sunday morning! And we were even at one of the main bus stops! Inexcusable! I was so pissed! And it was a Sunday morning so there wasn’t another bus for another 20 minutes. Okay, that’s my MBTA rant for the day.

Twin Donuts doesn’t look like much from the outside.

(Disclaimer: I didn’t take this picture..I stole it from Google Images)

But inside, it’s a little nicer. A little.

However, once you get past the looks, this place is a real charm!

The service was excellent! Our waitress came over with menus as soon as she saw us and didn’t give us 20 unnecessary minutes to look over the menu like some restaurants do. Our drinks came out really quick (and she refilled my coffee quickly too). I was very pleased.

Even our food came out pretty darn quick.

Their menu consists of breakfast pastries (and donuts obviously…for only 75c) and also any other breakfast item you can think of. But my favorite part of the menu was the Breakfast Combos for only $7.00. They came with 2 eggs, homefries, a choice of meat and pancakes or french toast, depending on which combo you choose. I went with the Combo 1: a pancake, french toast, 2 eggs over medium, homefries and corned beef hash.

That is one BIG plate!

And it was all delicious! I was so glad I went with the corned beef hash…so good! The eggs were cooked perfectly and I don’t know what they soak their french toast in, but it was really really good! And the pancake was perfectly fluffy…I just can’t say anything bad about it. And for that price! Can’t be beat!

Our total came to exactly $20 with tip (my friend also got a breakfast combo). Not bad for a Sunday brunch that keeps you full until dinner!

If I ever find myself living near Allston or Brighton, I will definitely visit this place quite often!

My toast and peanut butter isn’t going to taste as good as it use to tomorrow…

Leave a comment

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

Leave a Reply

