A Moment of Silence for the Red Sox We Knew and Loved

I feel another 86 years coming on.

For real though.

I’m amazed that we even won Saturday night. And want to know why we won? Because I am good luck and I was watching the game from the Landsdowne Pub right next to Fenway, that’s why. (Side note: I think it’s a little ridiculous that you have to be 21 or older to even get into Jillian’s or Game On! to eat food and watch the game at 7 freakin oclock! Ridic. But their loss, because we were hungry and instead spent all our money at Landsdowne.)

We even had a few opportunities in the final innings of last night’s game, with a near home run ball with 2 men on base that fell just a few feet short of the Monster.

So anyway, can anyone tell me who half these players are? I feel like I’m not even rooting for the Red Sox anymore. No Youkilis. No Ellsbury. No Pedroia. No Crawford. No Middlebrooks. No Gonzalez. No Bucholz.  Thank God for David Ortiz! You can even tell just by the way the crowd reacts to him how much he is our only hope left! It’s sad. He’s the only fan favorite still out on the ball field. And Saltalamacchia, but maybe I’m the only one who loves Salty!

The rest all look like they just graduated middle school. Although I have to admit, I’m already starting to like Pedro Ciriaco. And Lillibridges, but pretty much just because I like his last name.

Don’t get me wrong, I still don my Red Sox shirt (I wore it to the gym today and was forced to ashamedly look at the ground when I passed people in a Yankees hat like three times) and I’m proud to be a Red Sox fan. And I’m obviously used to the disappointment by now. But it’s really hard to root for a team that you don’t even know anymore.

I mean I grew up passionate about the Red  Sox and I idoled guys like Garciaparra and Pedro and Damon and Beckett (a longlonglong time ago) and Ortiz. And now Ortiz is the only one left. I know players come and go, but usually it’s a slow transition and you have time to grow to love the new guys, but it seems like I blinked once and now there’s a team that I don’t even recognize! With each new person that comes up to bat I find myself saying, “Who?”

It’s hard to passionately support a team and defend them to your poor, misguided, Yankee fan friends when you don’t even know who they are. Especially when they were playing Little League just last week.

I know this whole three-quarters of our team being on the DL won’t last for very long, but it will surely feel like a lifetime. And in the meantime, we could very possibly fall too far to even have a shot at a postseason. Or lose the undying support of half of Red Sox Nation. What a great thing for Pedy and the boys to come back to!

Hopefully Ortiz can hold things together for the next few weeks (and could everyone please stop walking him at EVERY SINGLE AT BAT? He’s all we have left! Just let him hit!) and these new guys can keep improving and add some real value to this utterly defeated team.

Here’s to a miraculous second half of the season to make up for the impossibly horrendous end of 2011!

Good luck with the All Star game, Big Papi. And for the love of God, please do not get hurt or leave us in any other way!

(Knocks on wood)

2 Comments

Filed under Boston Red Sox, Sports

2 responses to “A Moment of Silence for the Red Sox We Knew and Loved

  1. Sean Breslin

    It will take a while to erase the mistakes of last year…maybe these new players will be the ones who help the franchise move on!

Leave a Reply

