A State of Depression

It is a sad night in Massachusetts for sports fans.

In fact, it’s been a very sad and depressing year.

First, the Patriots lost to the Giants (again!) in the Superbowl. Then the Red Sox lost on Fenway’s 100th birthday and then blew a 9-0 lead against the Yankees to lose 15-9. THEN the Bruins got knocked out of the Stanley Cup Playoffs prematurely by Holtby and the Capitals. And now this.

I really thought the Celtics were going to turn this year around for us.

They should have won Game 2. It’s as simple as that. They should have won game 2 and then the series would’ve been over in 5. But they didn’t. And we can blame whoever we want, but it is what it is. And if you look at the last two games, the better team won. So there you have it. All hope of happiness for Boston sports fans now lies in the hands of the Red Sox. Yikes. And they couldn’t even win tonight! At least when the Bruins got knocked out of the Playoffs the Red Sox won that night to ease the blow a little. A very little, but still.

So here we are.

It sucks that we lost, but what sucks even more is that Lebron James is now being equated to God (Who am I kidding? He surpassed God a long time ago). He’s a good basketball player, I get it. But seriously. I HATE him. He was gifted with raw talent and just expects the world to kiss the ground he walks on and bask in his greatness. But if you look at Rajon Rondo and Paul Pierce, you will see heart. And lots of it. They may not be the best players in the league, but they put one hundred percent into every game for their team and their fans. And if you ask me, that’s what makes a great player. Not Lebron James.

I know what people will say, “If you don’t like Lebron James, you don’t like basketball.”

Yeah, yeah. I’ve heard it all before.

And you know what? You’re right. I really don’t care about NBA. Not at all. But I do love sports. And I love Boston. And it is impossible to not put your heart and soul behind a team who came back from a mid-season slump to make it to the Playoffs and then played their asses off against the Heat, almost winning the series in 5 games, after everyone had already counted them out, saying there was no way they would beat Miami.

Well, they were right in the end. But they sure put up one hell of a fight.

Rajon Rondo in Game 2? Amazing. You can’t not get attached to that.

So I’ve been telling everyone that I really don’t care about basketball and I don’t like the NBA. But I’ve been glued to the TV for the past several weeks cheering my head off for the Celtics. Still saying that “I really don’t care, I just root for the Celtics by default.” But there I was…watching the seconds tick away as it became evident that the Celtics’ championship bid was over, feeling tears begin to burn in the back of my eyes.

Damn you, Celtics! Get me all attached and then lose!!

Force me to get in fights with cocky Miami/Lebron fans who say you didn’t have a chance in hell!

At least they proved that wrong. They put up a damn good fight. And made it very clear that they are a team to watch out for. There are still 2 years left in the 5 year plan, right?

So I guess for the the 3rd time in 2012, New England sports fans are going to bed depressed, muttering that one little phrase we’ve become so accustomed to.

There’s always next year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Boston Celtics, Sports

Leave a Reply

