Dear Red Sox, a little consistency please?

So I’m not saying they need to choose between going back to Rock Bottom or completely remain undefeated for the rest of the season, but just a little consistency would be nice.

I don’t understand how a team can lose 15-9 after having a 9-0 lead and then go on to win 5 in a row. At first I thought it was just Fenway that was cursed, but then I remembered them winning 3 in a row against the Rays at home, averaging over 10 runs a game. And then going on to lose 5 excruciatingly painful games at home, including the Fenway Park 100th Birthday Game. I just don’t understand.

Did I miss something? Was I too wrapped up in my sorrow over the Bruins that I didn’t hear about the complete overhaul of our Bullpen? (Because clearly, that couldn’t have actually been Daniel Bard pitching last night, right?)

And what is up with our offense? We now lead the League in runs with 114? How did this happen? Not consistently, I can tell you that much.

Let’s take a look at how many runs we have scored in the first 19 games:

That is one interesting looking graph, but what’ll you know? We actually are starting to be consistent. For one, we’ve hit 114 runs and we’ve allowed 114 runs. Weird coincidence. It would make sense under any normal pretenses, but look at some of those scores! I’m going to go out on a limb and say that we’ll win today, just for arguments sake. So at 20 games into the season, we’ll have lost 10 and won 10 and our runs hit vs. runs allowed will be pretty equal (unless there’s another 18-3 blowout, preferably in our favor this time).

So then why did we need to go through all this? Why did they embarrass us in front of all our Yankee-loving friends, family and colleagues? Why did they ruin the 100th Birthday of Fenway Park? Why are we so damn inconsitent?

Youkilis: Two nights ago he had 3 hits, 4 RBIs and a grandslam. Last night he went 0 for 3.

I don’t understand. There’s no logical pattern.

Let’s hope the madness is coming to an end, though. As I said, we’ve evened it out at 114-114 and the last two games have ended with the exact same score (10-3). I will take this as a sign of better things to come and once again get my hopes up for this year’s Boston Red Sox.

For the love of God, please don’t break our hearts all over again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Boston Red Sox, Sports

Leave a Reply

